RSS Feed

Chicago Tribune + Great Coupons

I found out recently from a good friend that you can get the Chicago Tribune on Sundays only!  For $12.87, I was able to subcribe to the Tribune for 13 weeks!  At under $1 a week, the savings is sure to be worth it.  The Tribune carrys Smart Source, Red Plum and P&G! Correct me if I am wrong, but I am pretty sure the SJ-R no longer offers Smart Source, which often has some great deals, including the Sweet Baby Rays one listed below, as well as Advil, Betty Crocker, Bob Evans, etc!

Remember, even if you think you might not buy a product right away, or not at all, go ahead and cut and organize the coupons, especially if you’re interested in donating to charities!  I cut coupons for bandaids and they went on sale a week later for $1 so I got free bandaids with my $1 off coupon!  I am donating them to a great cause!  Just because you see an ad for Suave, and like me think, I won’t use that, you never know when Suave might actually be FREE!  Deals in stores come out weekly and coupons often don’t expire for 1, 2, or even 6 months, so you can always use those coupons down the road matched up with a good store deal!  So if you have a coupon for $.50 off Suave and the store is also offering a $.50 off coupon, you might get Suave for pennies!

3 responses »

  1. Andrea Parker

    Here is my question, the first of many, I’m afraid. I do not understand why we don’t have store here with loyalty cards, double coupons and more in-house coupons, nor do I understand why the newspapers aren’t consistent with their coupon offers. I’ve subscribed to the Tribune for 25 years and they have a couple of coupon booklets a week. Now the SJR is down to one. Shop and Save, for instance, is a subsidiary of Albertson’s which offers much more to couponers. I used some online coupons in Shop and Save tis week and they scrutinzed them like I was trying to steal something. And their cash registers balked as accepting them, too. I’ve been a casual coupon shopper for many years but my daughter’s family contains 5 children now, so I try to help them out as I can. Can’t Springfield shoppers get a break. I do use Walgreen’s and CVS coupons also.

    Reply
    • I think it is simply based on the market. We live in an area where there are just enough stores and no competition. If you are in Chicago, they are trying to get business from people who have access to literally hundreds of stores! The Kroger in Taylorville does have good deals, and if you can plan a big trip, it’s not too far of a drive. As for the SJ-R, I can’t figure that one out either, I think they are shooting themselves in the foot!! Stick with the Tribune and I get most of my good deals at CVS, Target, and Walgreens!

      Reply
  2. Crista: FYI I get the local paper (daily) and the Tribune (weekends only) The Redplum in the Tribune today had twice the number of pages that our local Redplum did. This drives me nuts. We are in the same area (central midwest) so why are the differences?

    Reply

Give us some LOVE!

